Рубрика: Без рубрики

«The most useful thing» by Avetik Isahakyan

Картинки по запросу ԱՄԵՆԱՊԻՏԱՆԻ ԲԱՆԸ

Once upon a time, in a wonderful part of the East, there was a fair and intelligent king. He had three sons.

It happened that the king was growing old, and he wanted one of his sons to rule the country who would be more capable of that difficult task.

So one day he called his sons and said,

«Dear sons, you see that your father is old and cannot rule the country.» I would have come down from my throne a long time ago if I had seen the thought that had surrounded my soul for many years. And now whoever among you wisely analyze my thought, he shall receive my crown, he shall rule my people.

— May our beloved father  be alive. What a great idea is it that your wise soul isn’t able to understand?

‘Do you see this huge and large storehouse that I built a long time ago?’ My desire was to fill it with something that would be the most useful  thing  for  the world and by which I could make my people happy. That storehouse is still empty.

And now whoever of you can fill that storehouse with all its corners, upside down, with the most useful  thing in the world, may he be worthy of the throne.

Take from my treasures as much as you want and go your way separately from city to city, around the world, find that thing and fill in my storehouse.

I give you three times and forty days.

The sons kissed his father’s hand and went away.

All three times for forty days they walked around the city, the world over, saw different people, different morals, and came back to their father in time.

‘Welcome, dear sons, have you found and brought the most useful thing in the world?’

«Yes, we have found, dear father,» replied the sons.

And immediately the father took the sons, and went to the door of the storehouse; All the people were gathered there.

The king opened the door and asked to the eldest son.

‘How are you going to fill this huge storehouse, dear son, what is the most useful thing in the world?’

And the older son took out a little amount of grain out of his pocket, and turning to his father, he said,

«I’ll fill this huge storehouse with bread, dear father.» What is better in the world than bread? Who can live without bread? I wandered a great deal, saw many things, but found nothing important than bread.

Then the father called his middle son.

‘How are you going to fill this huge storehouse, dear son, what is the most useful thing in the world?’

And the middle son pulled out a little amount of land out of his pocket and turned to his father.

«I’ll fill up this  huge storehouse with a land, dear father, what’s the most useful thing in the world ?» There is no bread without land. Who can live without land? I wandered a lot, saw many things, but found nothing important than the land.

Then the father called the youngest son;

‘How are you going to fill this huge storehouse, dear son, what is the most useful thing in the world?’

At that moment the youngest son stepped steadily toward the storehouse, passed the building, pulled out a small candle, lit it up and then the candle. Everyone thought that he wanted to see the store with the light of the candle.

«Well, son, how are you going to fill it?» The father asked impatiently.

‘I’ll fill this huge storehouse with light, wise father, only with light.’ I wandered a lot, saw many worlds, but found nothing important than the light. Light is the most important thing in the world. Without light the land would not produce bread, there would be no life without the light.

I have wandered many times, seen many worlds and found that the knowledge of light is the best thing, and only the light can govern the world.

‘Well done,’ cried the happy father, ‘you deserve the throne and the geyson, as you will fill your kingdom and the souls of your people with light.

«Let our young bright king live,» exclaimed all the excited courtiers and the people.